The strength of this work is to the radical nature of his proposal. Perrault creates a huge central square bounded on its corners by four tall towers in the form of diedros. In such places the pylons reservoirs of various books, while the spaces intended for public reading rooms, auditoriums,… are located below and to the sides of the vast central square. The proposal involves an investment of literal approach to bury the books and raised the reading rooms.

Dominique Perrault’s work is characterized by four large angular towers of 79 m each corresponding symbolically to four open books. Each tower carries a name: Torre of the times, Tower of laws, Tower of numbers and Torre of the letters.